Getting to Know You

Remember the first day of school when a group of strangers, soon to be classmates, would nervously file into the new classroom. You’d put your backpack in your cubby and slip into the desk with your name on it.  Sooner or later, the teacher would try to quiet down the anxious chatter to announce that the class was going to play a “Get to Know You” game. Ugh. This is why I used to wish my family stayed on vacation for the first week of school like some families. I dreaded these games. In fact I’m pretty sure I slipped down into my seat little by little as the teacher would cheerfully say, “OK class, now what I want you to do is say your name and tell us one thing about yourself.” Isn’t it funny how things change when you get older?

I love meeting new people. I love learning from them and hearing about what makes them tick, what they are passionate about and where their interests lie. This blog is just to be a connecting point. It can be about books, food, travel, running, life, anything. I have loved reading all of your blogs and getting to know all of you this past year and now I have decided to join the conversation. I’m going to have to learn a lot about this whole blogging process but hey, that’s what makes it fun right?

I think the hard part about the Get to Know You games are that they are so one dimensional and what I love about people is that they are the exact opposite. People aren’t stagnant and as they grow, interests change. I love that. So in the end this blog may take on more of a focus on one aspect of life but for right now, it’s going to be fluid an open. Game on.

So here’s to life, learning and having fun while doing it. I’m interested to see where this goes.

10 thoughts on “Getting to Know You

  1. Exciting! Welcome to blogworld! It’s fun to have a new friend. I’ll have to invite you to one of our Nashville blog-friends events soon. 🙂

Leave a comment